Los Angeles DUI Defense Attorneys
Arrested for Violation of Vehicle Code 23152(b) VC?
If you've been pulled over for drunk driving anywhere in California, you're probably worried about many things. Will your license get suspended? What are the criminal penalties of DUI charge? At Criminal Defense Incorporated, we understand your worries. We've handled hundreds of DUI cases and we can help you. Contact us at (800) 458-1488.
Mr. Lewin I don't know what to say, you saved my life. We made it. We came a long way didn't we? When this thing started you were looking for direct evidence to vindicate me. Well guess what? God gave you a harder challenge.
» Read More
If you were arrested for Drunk Driving, call us at (800) 458-1488 immediately!
California DUI Law
In California, it's illegal to drive any kind of motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or greater. Even if a person's BAC is below the legal limit, they can still be charged with a DUI if they fail a field sobriety test or an officer feels they're acting drunk. Californians can also be charged with a DUI for smoking marijuana while driving.
The penalties for DUI in California are harsh. They can include:
- Loss or suspension of license
- Jail or prison
- Community service
- Substance-abuse treatment
- Criminal record
- Restrictive probationary license (like ignition interlock devices on your car)
These penalties listed don't even include the lifelong negative consequences that come with being labeled a drunk driver.
California DUI Statistics
Unfortunately, drunk driving is a major problem in California. The Justice Department reports that in 2013 (the most recent year stats are available for), our state had over 200,000 DUI arrests. Here are some scary stats about DUI in California:
- Los Angeles County has the most DUI arrests. There are over 1,000 DUI arrests each year in L.A. County, much higher than the state average.
- There are over 20,000 alcohol involved accidents each year.
- About 700 people die in DUI crashes each year.
- The majority of DUI charges are first offenses.
- The average of California DUI offenders is 30 years old.
- About 1 percent of California DUI offenders are under 18 years old.
- Drivers under 21 cause about 11 percent of all drunk driving crashes in the state.
What is a DUI in California?
California DUI penalties for a Vehicle Code 23152(b) VC conviction depends on whether you're facing your first or subsequent DUI conviction, whether you are being charged with misdemeanor or felony DUI, the facts of your specific case, and your criminal history.
Misdemeanor DUI Penalties
- Probation for up to five years
- Up to a year in county jail
- Minimum fine of $390
- Having to complete a DUI information program
- A driver's license suspension of six months to three years
- Installation of an interlock device in your car (this new law is valid for first time DUI convictions in Alameda, Los Angeles, Tulare, and Sacramento Counties)
Felony DUI Penalties
- Minimum five years probation
- Up to three years in state prison
- Minimum four-year driver's license revocation
- Being designated a habitual traffic offender by the California DMV
Protecting Your Driver's License in Los Angeles
Many people facing DUI charges are afraid of losing their driver's license. In Southern California, this is an honest fear. More than just about any place on earth, people who live in the Los Angeles area need a car. We drive to work. We drive kids to school. For most people, there isn't a day that goes by that doesn't have a good chunk of it spent behind the wheel.
Getting stopped for DUI puts your driving privilege in jeopardy. You need an experienced lawyer on your side in these cases not just because the law is confusing, but because it has a time limit. In California, you have 10 days to request a DMV hearing after being charged with a DUI. If you don't request a hearing, your license will be suspended for up to a year. The DMV isn't messing around. Don't wait. Call Criminal Defense Incorporated at (800) 458-1488.
Fighting For Your Rights
Criminal Defense Incorporated will work hard to reduce your sentence or get it thrown out altogether. Call our Los Angeles criminal defense attorneys today to speak about your case. We can put together a tough defense to protect your rights. You can reach us at (800) 458-1488.
If you have been charged with
a DUI in California,
The next move you
make is crucial
If you've been accused of a crime, but NOT formally charged yet, call us immediately.
LET US HELP PREVENT CHARGES FROM EVER BEING FILED.
CALL (800) 458-1488